Dr. L. Marshall Washington elected to Board of American Association of Community Colleges


Dr. L. Marshall Washington, president of New River Community and Technical College, has been elected to the board of directors of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), an advocacy group for nearly 1,200 two-year associate degree-granting institutions and more than 13 million students. Washington will serve a three-year term beginning July 1.

Headquartered in Washington, DC, AACC supports and promotes its member colleges through policy initiatives, innovative programs, research, information and strategic research outreach to business, industry and the national news media.

AACC is governed by a 32-member board of directors that acts on behalf of the institutional members to create and re-create a vision for AACC and to determine and assure appropriate organizational performance.

Washington became the third president of New River CTC in March of 2013. He previously served as vice president of the Lancaster Campus of Harrisburg Area Community College in Pennsylvania and vice president of student services at Kellogg Community College in Michigan.

Washington holds a doctorate in educational studies with a specialization in educational leadership and higher education from University of Nebraska-Lincoln; a master’s degree in education from Winona State University in Minnesota; and a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Ohio Wesleyan University in Delaware, OH.

New River Community and Technical College serves Fayette, Greenbrier, Mercer, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers and Webster counties from locations in Beckley, Lewisburg, Ghent, Princeton and Summersville. Administrative offices are located in Beckley.




more recommended stories