Shanghai Parade winners announced

Shanghai Parade. The Moonshiners
The Moonshiners (Photo by Scott Miller)

The annual Shanghai Parade was held Jan. 1 in downtown Lewisburg before an estimated crowd of 2,000+.

There were 59 entries judged by Rev. Rick Brown, LUMC; Cheri Brown, “First Lady” of LUMC; Jim Moore, engineer with WVDOH; Chuck McClung, owner of The Loft; and Martha Hilton, realtor/auctioneer. The Parade MC was Mike Kidd and scorekeepers were Michelle Hanna and Shane Hanna. Winning entries in the Shanghai Parade were as follows:

• Antique Car: 1st – #172 Ripco Truck (‘67 Diamond T); 2nd – #157 Floyd Packer (‘57 Chevrolet); 3rd – #162 Leonard & Sheila Waid (‘69 Dodge Truck D100)

• Equestrian: 1st – #182 Laura Plumley “Mountain Man with Furs”; 2nd – #180 Selena Lucas “Professor McGonegal on a Magic Horse”; 3rd – #181 Jennifer Reed “The Pink Bunny from a A Christmas Story on Pumpkin

• Animal/Animal Drawn: 1st – #137 Blue Meadows Llamas “From the ‘50s”

• Best Dressed Farm Equipment: 1st – Lindsay Sears & Chester Loudermilk S28N Ford Tractor

• Float: 1st – #168 Four Jacks “P Jammin’”; 2nd – #147 Lewisburg Church of Christ “Candyland”; 3rd – #146 Richland Ruritan Club “No Farm No Food”

• Specialty: 1st – #149 Jerry & Linda Clemons “The Moonshiners Tim & Tickle”; 2nd – #173 Greenbrier Valley Shrine Club Chopper Division; 3rd – #143 Greenbrier Valley Roller Vixens

• Walkers (1-2 persons): 1st – #175 William “Bunyon” Tuckwiller & “Babe” the Blue Goat; 2nd – #174 Paul Grist & “Cadbury” Richard Grist & “Polly”

• Walkers (3+ persons): 1st – #178 Fritz Glasser’s Steelers Fan Club; 2nd – #139 Greenbrier Valley Master Gardeners; 3rd – #160 Shuck Memorial Baptist Church “Folloe the Star to the East”

• Joe Ellis Memorial Tradition Prize: #149 Jerry & Linda Clemons The Moonshiners Tim & Tickle

• Mary Satterfield Spirit of Shanghai Award: #173 Greenbrier Valley Shrine Club Chopper Division

• Chairman’s Award: #143 Greenbrier Valley Roller Vixens

• Jim Wills Memorial Award: #172 Ripco Truck

• Oldest Participant: #157 Floyd Parker, 84

• Youngest Participant: #147 Tristan Sparks, 2

• Lewisburg Volunteer of the Year: The Irish Pub

• Super Duper Pooper Scooper: Marlene Pierson-Jolliffe, CEO State Fair of West Virginia and 2013 Preisdent of IAFE

The Shanghai Parade Committee members are: Dr. Mary Ann Mann, chairman; DeEtta Hunter, treasurer; Mike Kidd, MC; Marianna Hanna, Mike Hanna, Tom and Susan Campbell, Steve Hunter, Seth Kidd, Jeanie and Mike Wyatt, Mardi McMillan and Tommy Porterfield, Emeritus.

The Parade Committee thanks the City of Lewisburg workers and Mayor Manchester, the Lewisburg City Police Department, Mike and Seth Kidd, Boy Scout Troop 70, the General Lewis Inn, Joe Sharp, the West Virginia Daily News and Martin Schlieff and family.



more recommended stories