Nomination process opens for 8th Annual Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

Philanthropy West Virginia is pleased to announce that it is now accepting nominations for the 2014 Spirit of Philanthropy Awards, the state’s premier awards in philanthropy.

“Philanthropy WV encourages nominations for the 2014 Spirit of Philanthropy Awards from across the state. Since 2007, these awards celebrate individuals and programs that strive to make a positive impact through philanthropy in their communities,” said Paul D. Daugherty, Philanthropy WV president & CEO. “We welcome the public to recognize those that advance philanthropy in communities locally and across the state by nominating someone or a program today.”

The 2014 Spirit of Philanthropy Awards will consist of three main award types: the Critical Impact Award, the Volunteer Leadership Award and the Staff Leadership Award. Deadline for nominations is Aug. 4. The awards will be formally awarded on Nov. 6 at the Philanthropy West Virginia Annual Conference at the Resort at Glade Springs in Daniels.

Critical Impact Award

The Critical Impact Award celebrates local grant-making that has changed lives and communities for the better. Both larger and smaller grant projects will be considered for the award. (Projects must demonstrate bold vision, strategic initiative, innovation and sustainability). The 2013 Critical Impact honoree was Our Community Foundations: The Parkersburg Area Community Foundation and Regional Affiliates’ Civic Fellowship Program (Parkersburg).

Volunteer Leadership Award

The Volunteer Leadership Award honors an individual who has exhibited an extraordinary commitment to philanthropy in the state of West Virginia. The individual must excel in his or her role as an individual philanthropist through their personal giving, company/corporate philanthropy, engaging others to give and/or advising/serving as a board member of a foundation/philanthropic organization. The 2013 Volunteer Leadership honoree was Mary Lou Haley of the Hinton Area Foundation Board of Directors (Hinton).

Staff Leadership Award

The Staff Leadership Award honors an individual staff member of a family, private, community, public, corporate giving program or foundation that exhibits an extraordinary commitment to philanthropy in the state of West Virginia. The 2013 Staff Leadership honoree was Susie Nelson of the Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley (Wheeling).

To nominate deserving individuals and/or programs for the 2014 Spirit of Philanthropy Awards, please visit and click on the Spirit of Philanthropy Awards link on the main page. Nominations must be received no later than 5 p.m. on Aug. 4. Philanthropy West Virginia welcomes all nominations for organizations and individuals that are leaders of philanthropy in West Virginia that have positively impacted their communities.

Founded in 1993, Philanthropy West Virginia is one of 34 regional associations in the country. (Our mission is “Strengthening Philanthropy in the Mountain State.”) Philanthropy WV is the state network of philanthropy that serves the staff, volunteers and trustees of West Virginia’s community, private, family and corporate foundations, giving programs and philanthropists. For more information, visit:

more recommended stories