Finalists chosen for Professor of the Year

Each year the Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia honors an outstanding faculty member at a West Virginia college or university. Five finalists for the 2014 Professor of the Year honor have been chosen. The finalists are Lisa M. Di Bartolomeo, Ph.D., world languages, literatures & linguistics professor, West Virginia University; Powsiri Klinkhachorn, Ph.D., computer science and electrical engineering professor, West Virginia University; Zachary J. Loughman, Ph.D., natural sciences and mathematics professor, West Liberty University; Harald Menz, Ph.D., world languages and cultures professor, Bethany College; and William Palmer, Ph.D., history professor, Marshall University.

Interviews with the five candidates will be held Thursday, Jan. 22. The finalists will be honored at a March 2015 reception and banquet in Charleston, where the 2014 Professor of the Year will be announced.

The Faculty Merit Foundation was created in 1984 to provide a means to recognize and reward innovation and creativity among the faculties of West Virginia’s public and private colleges and universities. Through the Professor of the Year program, the outstanding achievements of those individuals are brought to the attention of the general public. A $10,000 cash award is given to the candidate selected as Professor of the Year, with $2,500 to the runner-up, and smaller awards to the other finalists.

The Professor of the Year award is presented with financial support from United Bank.