Tennant announces annual report late fee waiver for businesses affected by floods

Secretary of State Natalie E. Tennant announced this week that any business affected by the June 23 floods within West Virginia’s 12 FEMA federal disaster declaration counties that has not been able to file its 2016 annual report will not have to pay a late fee. State code mandates a late fee be collected for businesses filing their report after the deadline, July 1, 2016. Tennant asked Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin to approve a late fee waiver under his emergency powers and he did so.
“We know that our flood-affected businesses are focused on both rebuilding and helping their neighbors right now, and we did not think it fair for them to have to pay the late fee,” Tennant said. “I thank Governor Tomblin for supporting my request. This is just one thing we can do to help lessen the burden on those small businesses affected by this devastating disaster.”
The 12 counties that are part of FEMA’s federal disaster declaration and were listed as State of Emergency counties on the July 1 deadline are: Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Roane, Summers and Webster.
A flood-affected business in any of these counties that has not yet filed its annual report should call the Secretary of State’s Office at 304-558-8000, use the online chat feature or e-mail business@wvsos.com. Late fee waivers for businesses affected by the floods are not available through the online business portal, http://business4wv.com.
Businesses across West Virginia have until Oct. 31 to file their annual report in order to remain in good standing with the Secretary of State’s Office.