New River announces scholarship recipients at Greenbrier Valley Campus

The New River Community and Technical College Foundation recently announced the students at the Greenbrier Valley Campus who received scholarships through the Foundation for the 2013-14 academic year. The students are listed with their field of study and the scholarship they received.
Greenbrier Valley Campus Scholarship recipient
Pictured with New River President L. Marshall Washington (Front Row, far left) are GVC scholarship recipients: Front: Donna Burdette (left), Kimberly Clark, Sarah McFerrin, Jessica Lovelace, Vicky Banks, Amy King and Aleksandra Culyer; Back: Jakeb Shuck (left), Autumn Lively, Jason Massie, Terry Holliday, Joanna Post and Linda Combs.

Alderson – Linda Combs, health information technology, Babe and Sidney Louis Hyatt Scholarship

Clintonville – Nicole Blankenship, general education, George and Helen Aide Scholarship

Crawley – Kaysha Burkholder, practical nursing, Veronica C. Blanton Scholarship; William Cody Heaster, general education, Hollowell Foundation Scholarship; Amy King, elementary education (Bluefield State College), Hollowell Foundation Scholarship; Joanna Post, elementary education (Bluefield State College), Herkness Mathematics Scholarship and McElhenney-Kirven-Fry Scholarship

Dunmore – Jessica Lovelace, practical nursing, Marlinton Rotary Club Health Sciences Scholarship

Grassy Meadows – Jakeb Shuck, criminal justice/law enforcement, Hollowell Foundation Scholarship

Hinton – Donna Burdette, allied health, Veronica C. Blanton Scholarship; Elizabeth Meadows, general business/accounting, Old Stone Presbyterian Women’s Scholarship

Lewisburg – Vicky Banks, practical nursing, Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences Scholarship; Kimberly Clark, practical nursing, Elizabeth Runyon Scholarship and Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences Scholarship; Aleksandra Culyer, general business, John L. Stewart Scholarship; Hope Halstead, medical assisting, Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences Scholarship

Rainelle – Autumn Lively, legal assisting, Hollowell Foundation Scholarship; Franklin Manspile, education, Benjamin Fort Teacher Scholarship; Sonja Manspile, elementary education (Bluefield State College), Benjamin Fort Teacher Scholarship

Ronceverte – Jason Massie, elementary education (Bluefield State College) Babe and Sidney Louis Hyatt Scholarship; Andrew Wykle, paraprofessional education, Robert Patterson Scholarship

Smoot – Terry Holliday, general education, Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences Scholarship

Talcott – Barbara Elswick, health information technology, David B. McClung Scholarship

Union – Tiffany Dalenburg, general education, John C. Browning Scholarship and Mary Louise and Jim Kilcollin Scholarship

White Sulphur Springs – Allyson Eppling, hospitality and general business, Reginald and Nelle C. Dixon Scholarship and The Greenbrier Hospitality Scholarship

Williamsburg – Bethany McFerrin, general education, Edward D. Knight Scholarship and Horace McGraw Scholarship; Sarah McFerrin, paraprofessional education, David and Bertha Moshy Scholarship and Jeanne and Lawson Hamilton Scholarship.

Information and applications for 2014-2015 scholarships will available on the Foundation/Alumni page of the New River website,, beginning Mar. 3. Applications will be accepted through Mar. 31.