New River CTC and West Virginia State University announce 2+2 transfer agreement

This week, New River Community and Technical College and West Virginia State University leaders signed an articulation agreement enabling students who complete a two-year, associate degree at New River CTC to transfer into a four-year program at WVSU – without leaving the College’s Raleigh County Campus.
Through WVSU’s online and evening classes, graduates of New River CTC’s Business Administration, Law Enforcement, and Corrections associate degree programs will be able to complete their four-year bachelor’s degree in Business or Criminal Justice.
Those who take advantage of this opportunity may choose to travel to the WVSU campus in Institute, WV, or save money on mileage and stay closer to home, an advantage for many students who complete courses while working and raising a family.
“Recently ranked as the fourth most affordable small college east of the Mississippi by Great Value Colleges, we at State are excited to help enable New River CTC students find their passion and achieve their dreams of a better life through education right in the Beckley area,” said Dr. Brian O. Hemphill, President of West Virginia State University.
“Our business administration program, recently ranked the third best out of 50 best value small colleges for a business degree, and our criminal justice program each have a long history of opening doors and opportunities for graduates. We look forward to expanding the State family in Raleigh County through this agreement,” Hemphill said.
Commonly referred to as a 2+2 articulation agreement, credits from a two-year associate degree are counted toward completion of a four-year bachelor’s degree.
“This is an outstanding opportunity for our students to continue their education on a flexible basis as their schedule allows,” said L. Marshall Washington, President of New River Community and Technical College. “We look forward to being able to offer additional paths of advancement for students interested in business and criminal justice careers.”
New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville), and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver/Beckley).
West Virginia State University, a land-grant institution and historically black college university, offers more than 70 academic programs in 23 bachelors and 5 master’s degree programs.


more recommended stories