New River CTC receives reaffirmation of accreditation

The Institutional Actions Council of the Higher Learning Commission has reaffirmed accreditation of New River Community and Technical College through 2024-2025. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.

In a letter dated Feb. 3 to New River’s President Dr. L. Marshall Washington, the Higher Learning Commission states New River Community and Technical College is on the ten-year Standard Pathway for accreditation.

“This is great news,” said Dr. Washington. “New River Community and Technical College is only 11 years old, but in that time it has emerged as a vibrant, progressive and caring institution dedicated to student success. I commend our students, faculty, staff, Board of Governors, and community supporters for their assistance with compiling our self-study and communicating with the Higher Learning Commission.”

Accredited status with the Higher Learning Commission is a continuing relationship between the Commission and New River Community and Technical College. The College will be submitting two interim reports in fall of 2015 and spring of 2017.

Since its last accreditation with the Higher Learning Commission, New River Community and Technical College has undergone an expansion phase, including the opening of the new Raleigh County Campus and Administrative Offices in Beaver in January of this year; lease of a new campus building in Mercer County, which opened in 2014; new classes held in the former Lewisburg Elementary School, leased and renovated for the Greenbrier Valley Campus in 2013; and acquisition of the Advanced Technology Center in Ghent in 2010. In addition, the College has expanded capacity for its Allied Health programs in Summersville and Beckley.

New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville), and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver/Beckley).