New River CTC Foundation recognizes Hollowell Foundation Scholarship winners

The New River CTC Foundation honored Hollowell Foundation 2017-2018 scholarship winners in September. Scholars present at the reception included: Jade Napier (left), New River CTC President Dr. L. Marshall Washington, Bethany Lephew and Alexander Hanna.

The New River Community and Technical College Foundation is pleased to recognize 2017-18 Hollowell Foundation scholarship winners. The Hollowell Foundation generously provides scholarship funds each year to New River CTC students attending the Greenbrier Valley Campus in Lewisburg.

Hollowell Foundation scholars must maintain a 3.0 grade appoint average and demonstrate character, integrity, leadership and community service. Since forming a partnership with the New River CTC Foundation, the Hollowell Foundation has committed more than $100,000 in scholarships for New River CTC students.

New River CTC students and alumni receiving Hollowell Foundation scholarships for the 2017-18 academic year include:

  • Alexander Hanna and his family own a farm in Greenbrier County. Hanna holds officer positions in the Future Farmers of America and 4-H chapters of Greenbrier County. He is pursuing a general studies degree and plans to continue his involvement with agriculture after graduation.
  • Bethany Lephew earned an associate’s degree from New River CTC and now attends Bluefield State College, majoring in education to become a teacher. She is from Monroe County and plans to earn a master’s degree in elementary education.
  • Jade Napier is enrolled in the Paramedic program. Eventually she hopes to become a nurse. She also is a previous AmeriCorps member and a volunteer at the Greenbrier Valley Theater.
  • Anita Workman started college at the One Room University in Marlinton. After completing her associate’s degree, she transferred to Bluefield State College where she will graduate with a bachelor’s degree in education. She plans to start student teaching in spring of 2018.

This year’s scholars were honored at a reception on Sept. 27 at the College’s Raleigh County Campus.

For more information about New River CTC scholarships, visit or contact Michael Green at 304-929-1042 or