Lewisburg’s historic district recognized with an award

Lewisburg Zoning Officer, Gary Ford (left); Historic Landmark Commissioners, Paul Lindquist, Donna Johns and David Craddock; Mayor Beverly White, Commissioner Carol Olson; Planning & Zoning Clerk Marsha Cunningham and Commissioner Skip Deegans

The Lewisburg Historic District was the recipient of a historic district “Our History Our Future” award from the West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History.

The Lewisburg Historic District was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1978, making it one of the earliest downtowns to be recognized in this manner in West Virginia.

The commercial core and surrounding residential neighborhoods reflect the architecture of the mid-18th to early 20th century. The city’s Historic Landmark Commission has employed design review for over 30 years ensuring that the enduring historic character of the district is preserved.

Its citizens and visitors enjoy the mix of restaurants, stores, museums and performance spaces all within walking distance.

more recommended stories