Humanities Council adds new committee members

The West Virginia Humanities Council announces citizen members recently elected to its program committee. The Humanities Council, the state affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities, serves West Virginia through grants and direct programs in the humanities.

Three members who now serve on the program committee were re-elected to new terms. They are Robert Enoch, Wood County, president of the Wood County Historical and Preservation Society and chairman of the Fort Boreman Park Commission; A. Waller Hastings, Ohio County who chairs the Humanities Department at West Liberty University; and Myra Ziegler, Summers County, director of the Summers County Public Library and secretary-treasurer of the Summers County Historic Landmarks Commission.

Newly elected citizen member Eric Waggoner chairs the English Department at West Virginia Wesleyan College where he teaches American Literature and Cultural Studies. These program committee members will serve a three-year term from June 1, 2014, to June 1, 2017.

The Humanities Council budgets more than $530,000 for grants and programs each year. The program committee recommends funding decisions to the Humanities Council board of directors. The 22-member committee includes 11 members drawn from the Council board and 11 citizen members who represent education and the general public.

For more information about the West Virginia Humanities Council and its programs visit or call 304-346-8500.


more recommended stories