GVAC encourages community to donate ‘dirty water money’

The Greenbrier Valley Aquatic Center (GVAC) launched a new, unconventional fundraising effort several weeks ago. #DonateDirtyWaterMoney is an idea that was presented by a commenter on the center’s Facebook page, and it quickly gained traction.

The “dirty water money” refers to funds awarded to individuals and businesses earlier this month, which stems from an accident on Route 92 in 2015, near Neola, where tanker truck containing diesel crashed into a tributary that feeds into Anthony Creek, which then leaked into the water. The diesel leak caused the city of Lewisburg to close their water treatment plant on Jan. 24, 2015, leaving many residents and businesses without water until the spill was cleaned up and the plant reopened.

Out of the 6,000 residents affected, only 1,965 joined in the class action lawsuit. The final day to join in the settlement was Aug. 10, 2018. The suit reached a settlement agreement in the amount of $4,000,000, with payouts ranging from $250 per residential household up to $3,100 for each business that was affected.

GVAC challenged those receiving a settlement check to consider donating the “found” money to the center. Mayor John Manchester and TAG Galyean have already pledged to donate their funds, and invite other community members to do the same.

If you wish to donate your “dirty water money” to the GVAC, simply make a check out to “Greenbrier Valley Aquatic Center” and mail it to 674 Church Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901. Be sure to include your name, address and email address with that check, and write “contaminated water money” on the check or include a note so they know you are supporting the initiative. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit all donations to the GVAC are tax deductible.

As of Apr. 27 the center has raised $2.4 million, which is 41 percent of their needed total to complete the facility. They have also officially appointed their board of directors, which consists of TAG Galyean, president; Tom Greenstreet, vice president; Tom Campbell, treasurer; Annabelle Galyean, secretary; Craig Martin, chairman of the board; Dr. John Wilson; Dr. Kristie Bridges; Rob Vass; and an appointment from the State Fair of West Virginia who has yet to be determined.