Alderson Christmas lights winners announced


A reception was held by Alderson Main Street (AMS) on Dec. 19 at Alderson City Hall for the winners and those who received honorable mention for their Christmas decorations. Doris Kasley, secretary of AMS, and Fawn Valentine judged the contest which they said was both a pleasure and a hard job. AMS President Betty Thomas joined Fawn Valentine in presenting the Certificates of Recognition.

Alderson Christmas LightsAlderson Christmas Lights2The certificate recognized the recipients for their contribution to the community through their Christmas decorations. In the “Traditional” category, the winner was Jeff and Shahana Johnson and honorable mention went to Kim Racer and Hugh Harris. In the “Santa Land” category, first place went to Paul and Lisa Parker with honorable mention going to Gerald Kyle and James Henthorn. For best “Nativity” Charlie and Betty Mulkey took first place and Pat and Anita Falls got honorable mention. For creating a “Children’s Fantasy,” first place went to Travis and Elizabeth Copenhaver and honorable mention went to Bobby and Judy Hoover. For the best decorated “Business,” Alderson’s Store received first place and MeMe’s Flowers received honorable mention.


A special award called “The Spirit of Christmas” was given Karen Lobban for the light display she presents each year.

Betty Thomas said, “We appreciate everyone in Alderson who shows the Christmas spirit and decorates their homes. We encourage everyone in the area to drive through Alderson and see all the lights from the Alderson Memorial Bridge to the Gazebo to individual homes, and, of course, the star that shines over it all.”